World’s Elite CS:GO Teams Including Past ELEAGUE Winners
Astralis, OpTic Gaming & to Compete for $1 Million Prize Pool

ELEAGUE, the premium esports tournament and content brand from Turner and IMG, will mark its return to Valve’s Counter-Strike: Global Offensive this Fall with the ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier 2017 beginning Friday, Sept. 1, on TBS. The first one-hour episode will preview the action with commentary and analysis on the teams and players that are set to compete in the weeks ahead. 

The ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier 2017 will feature the world’s best CS:GO teams – including ELEAGUE Major Champion Astralis, Season 01 winner and Season 02 winner OpTic Gaming – competing for $1 million in prize money. Live event competition will ensue with Group A on Friday, Sept. 8, at 10 p.m. ET airing on TBS, with digital coverage also available via and YouTube. Group A coverage will continue across those digital platforms Saturday, Sept. 9, at 2 p.m.  

The same weekly schedule will apply for Group B (Sept. 15-16), Group C (Sept. 22-23), and Group D (Sept. 29-30). The playoffs will begin with the quarterfinals on Tuesday and Wednesday, Oct. 10 and 11, followed by the semifinals on Thursday, Oct. 12, and the Finals on Friday, Oct. 13. TBS will present live coverage of the Finals at 10 p.m., while quarterfinal and semifinal gameplay will be presented across and YouTube.

“We couldn’t be more excited for the return of Counter-Strike as the game’s elite teams and players prepare to compete in the upcoming ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier 2017,” said Christina Alejandre, GM of ELEAGUE and Vice President of esports, Turner Sports. “We’re looking forward to showcasing a tournament field that will provide a compelling live event experience and must-see content for our audiences across all platforms.”

The ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier 2017 will be part of a consistent sequence of live Friday night ELEAGUE programming airing regularly at 10 p.m. on TBS through Thanksgiving, with the ELEAGUE Injustice 2 World Championship set to begin in late October.

Tournament Format
Group stage play will consist of four groups (with four teams apiece) in a double-elimination bracket. The two teams that perform best in each group will earn a spot in the playoffs. The playoffs will consist of the four group champions (each seeded No. 1) and the four group runners-up (each seeded No. 2). Those eight teams will be placed into a single-elimination bracket with each top seeded team facing a No. 2 seeded team. 

The ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier 2017 Champion will receive the $500,000 top share of its $1 million prize pool.

ELEAGUE is the premium esports tournament and content brand formed in partnership between Turner and IMG that officially launched in 2016. A leader in the delivery of live event experiences, ELEAGUE content is widely distributed across leading digital platform Twitch, along with showcase programming airing on Turner’s TBS, a fully-distributed cable television network. In its first year, ELEAGUE produced two seasons featuring Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, along with the first-ever Overwatch® Open. As recognition of its industry-wide impact, ELEAGUE was awarded its first-ever CS:GO Major, originating from Atlanta in January 2017. The ELEAGUE Major Grand Final drove ELEAGUE’s Twitch channel to a record peak of more than one million concurrent streams, in addition to a reach of 3.6 million total viewers on TBS throughout the tournament. ELEAGUE received a Sports Emmy® nomination for Outstanding Studio Design and Art Direction in March 2017. In August 2017, ELEAGUE made its first entry into feature-length premium episodic content with the launch of ELEAGUE | Road To The International Dota 2 Championships.